Oh, Bother.

9a87c9412f16a5b7e91f8df012992d53

“You see”, began Christopher with a long sigh, “It’s like sleeping for a long, long time”.

Christopher Robin was surrounded by his friends under his favorite tree. It rested on the top of the hill overlooking the entire Hundred Acre Wood. He was older now, and he knew that he didn’t have much more time left with them.

“But going to sleep means that someday you’ll wake up”, Pooh said with a smile.

“Precisely!”, exclaimed Owl.

“And we’ll be here when you do” Kanga added, “I’ll even make you breakfast”.

Christopher couldn’t help but smile. “I would very much like that. But you all have to understand that it will be a very, very long time”.

“Oh ho ho! We are great at waiting a long time! Rabbit here waits every year for the carrots to grow in the garden” Tigger chimed in.

“And every year you destroy them” Rabbit snarled.

“But Christopher!” Roo interjected, jumping into Christopher’s lap. “What are we going to do when you’re gone?”

“Oh I won’t be gone Roo. I’ll be right here” Christopher placed his finger over Roo’s heart. Roo giggled and scrunched up into a ball.

“We’ll just be fine” muttered Eeyore. “I’m used to being alone anyways”

“None of you will be alone! You’re a family now, and while I am gone you will all take care of each other” exclaimed Christopher.

“B-b-but you will b-b-be back r-r-right Christopher?” stuttered Piglet.

Christopher left out a soft sigh and looked around at all of his friends. It was going to be difficult to help them to understand. They probably never would.

“Sometimes good things come to an end. But here’s the secret everyone– come close!” They all huddled together underneath the tree to listen to Christopher’s secret.

“Memories Are Forever” He whispered and tapped Pooh on the nose.

“Memories?” said Pooh. “Well I have plenty of those! Like that time we saved you from the Heffalumps!”

“Or when you helped me fix my garden!” cried Rabbit.

“Or when you organized my library for me” exclaimed Owl.

“Or that time when you built me a new house out of those sticks you found in the woods” Eeyore added sullenly. “It didn’t last the night… But I remember it”

“Yes, yes! All of those are memories and you will have them forever. Just like I will have my memories of all of you”

Christopher stood up and took one last look over the Hundred Acre Wood. The sun was setting in the orange autumn sky and the trees were beginning to lose their leaves. It was time he went home.

Christopher gathered all of his friends together and began walking back down the hill. They were all busy discussing the memories they had had with each other.

“Christopher?” said Pooh looking up at Christopher as they walked hand in hand. “You aren’t coming back, are you?”

Christopher looked down at the ground and took a moment before he responded. “No Pooh, I won’t be coming back this time”

They walked in silence, listening to the sound of the crunching leaves underneath their feet.

Pooh suddenly stopped and looked intently into the ground. “I believe I am going to miss you Christopher”, he said with a soft, broken voice.

Christopher leaned down and took his lifelong friend into his arms.

“I will miss you too, Pooh. I will miss you very, very much”.

This is exactly why I love Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne the most of Disney, the emotions conveyed without the need for any further explanation and in this piece of writing I would like to share some of the most inspired, my favorite, quotes which I tend to use every where in one or the other way, if you had keenly observed in my other posts. They deliver what I ought to, aptly.

 How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard


Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart


If ever there is a tomorrow when we’re not together, there is something you must always remember, you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think, but the most important thing is even if we are apart, I’ll always be with you


If ever there comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart and I’ll stay there forever


“We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh? asked Piglet.

“Even longer”, Pooh answered.


“How do you spell love, Pooh?” asked Piglet.

“You don’t spell it, you feel it”, Pooh exclaimed.


Some people care too much, I think it’s called love


The things that make me different are the things that make me


A friend is one of the nicest things you can have and one of the best things you can be


Don’t walk behind me, I may not lead; Don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow;

Just walk beside me and be my friend


It seems they had always been, and would always be, friends. Time could change much, but not that


“It makes such a difference” said Pooh, “to have someone who believes in you”


If you live to be a hundred, I want to live a hundred minus one day, so I would never have to live a day without you


A little consideration, a little thought for others, makes all the difference – Eeyore


One of the advantages of being disorganized is that one is always having surprise discoveries


We didn’t realize we were making memories, we just knew we were having fun


When life throws you a rainy day, play in the puddles


It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch?”


Yesterday is history, tomorrow’s a mystery, but today is a gift. That’s why we call it the present


I wonder how many wishes a star can give


Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.


Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would, I’d would never leave


Love is taking a few steps backward, maybe even more…to give way to the happiness of the person you love


Life is a journey to be experienced not a problem to be solved


Always look for the rainbow


It never hurts to keep looking for sunshine


goodbye..? On no, please. Can’t we go back to page one and do it all over again?

001abb42623f9711531e0009274b9653

2 thoughts on “Oh, Bother.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

